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Nappier Issues Consumer Alert !   
Gift Cards Purchased for Mother’s Day Could Lose Value if  

Not Used Promptly; Treasurer Urges Consumers to Read Fine Print  
  

Nappier proposes new law to prohibit retailers from charging consumers 
 for not using value on gift cards;  State legislature considering action 

 
As Connecticut residents visit retailers this week to purchase gifts for Mothers Day, they’ll 
see a vast array of gift cards on sale at most national retail chains, usually displayed 
invitingly at check-out counters. 
 
But what appears to be a quick, easy and welcome gift option will likely have a hidden 
cost:  if the recipient of the gift card doesn’t use it quickly enough, the retailer will begin to 
reduce the value of the card, sometimes by as much as $5 a month, until the card becomes 
worthless. 
 
“Consumers would be well advised to consider the charges that will be imposed if the 
person who receives the gift card waits too long to use it,” Nappier said.  “Incredibly, 
today’s $50 gift card could be worth much less a year or two from now, even if mom 
hasn’t used it yet.” 
 
Nappier has proposed a new Connecticut law that would prohibit retailers from cha rging 
inactivity or dormancy fees that diminish the value of gift cards.  Her proposal, which 
would also eliminate expiration dates on gift certificates, is currently being considered by 
the State Legislature.  Absent the new law, the inactivity fees remain legal in Connecticut. 
 
“Until the law is changed, consumers should be aware not to hold the cards too long.  If 
you save them for a rainy day or forget to use them for a time, you may end up getting 
soaked by retail policies that make consumers pay for b uying too little, too slowly,” 
Nappier said. 
 
Nappier said consumers are generally unaware that retail stores can now deduct as much 
as $5.00 a month from gift cards that are unused for a period of time, reducing the 
monetary value of the card.  Under the current system, which permits in some cases the 
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deductions to be made retroactively to the beginning of the inactivity, the value of these 
cards can erode in a relatively short time. 
 
Nappier noted that there has been more attention focused on retail pract ices related to 
gift cards, as their use has increased.  A number of states have already acted to ban the 
inactivity fees, including Pennsylvania, Kentucky, Louisiana and Washington.  The Wall 
Street Journal recently reported that retailers retain an estimated $2 billion annually from 
the value of gift cards, which are often lost or not fully redeemed.  On average, 5 to 10 
percent of the value stored on gift cards never gets used by consumers.  The Journal 
reported that sales of the cards are expected to to tal approximately $37 billion for 
2002, up about 20 percent from the previous year.   
 
“Gift cards should be a convenience for consumers, not a double -dipping profit center for 
retailers,” Nappier said.  “The retailer receives their money when the card or certificate is 
purchased.  They should not keep the cash without providing any goods or services,” 
Nappier said. “In my view, the unused portion of the card still belongs to the consumer, not 
the company.  Retailers shouldn’t be allowed to whittle away the  value and take it back.  
Our role is to step in and protect consumers' rights to assets that become abandoned, 
working to make certain their money stays theirs.”  
 
The National Retail Federation, an industry trade association, has said that gift cards and  
certificates are one of the top 10 most popular holiday gifts.  It has been estimated that 
gift cards and certificates now account for 5 percent or more of total sales at such major 
retailers as J.C. Penney Co. and Wal-Mart Stores Inc. 
  
Nappier said that while retailers are selling gift cards in record numbers, consumers are 
often unaware of a significant ‘catch’ attached to the purchase.  The fine print on the back 
of many cards says the company will charge a monthly fee – sometimes as much as $5.00 
— if the card is unused or if a balance remains after a year or two.  The Treasurer noted 
that the way in which some gift cards are packaged at point of purchase, it is impossible 
to see, let alone read, the fine print. 
 
“If you received a $50 gift card from Linens-n-Things, for example, but you didn’t need 
anything from that store right away, beware.  If you wait 2 years to use the card, it will 
be worth only $2.  That’s because Linens-n-Things charges a retroactive service fee of $2 
per month if the card isn’ t used for 24 months.   
 
“If the Stop and Shop card you have falls to the bottom of your purse or the back of the 
kitchen drawer for 18 months, they’ll start deducting $2 every month.  Hopefully, you’ll 
find the card while it’s still worth something.  And if it’s a Home Depot card, after 24 
months they will take away $5 every month from the value of the card.” 
 
Among other major retailers, Barnes & Noble charges $1.50 a month after 12 months of 
non-use, Starbucks charges $2 a month after 12 months, Chili’s charges $2 a month after 
12 months and Blockbuster charges $2 a month after 24 months, according to published 
reports.  The practice is widespread – although not universal -- within the industry, as most 
retailers have moved from issuance of gift certificates to gift cards. 
 
Nappier’s proposed law, Senate Bill 121, was recently approved by the legislature’s 
Judiciary Committee and is now awaiting action by the full legislature. 


