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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE     
Monday, February 26, 2001 
 

TREASURER’S OFFICE PUBLISHES UNCLAIMED PROPERTY HOLDER 
MANUAL; URGES BUSINESSES TO REPORT UNCLAIMED PROPERTY  

BY MARCH 31 DEADLINE 
 

The Office of State Treasurer Denise L. Nappier has published its newly revised Holder 
Reporting Manual, as a guide for businesses preparing to report abandoned property to the 
State Treasurer's Office in compliance with state law.  

 
State unclaimed property law requires that all businesses report abandoned property, 

which includes uncashed checks, insurance benefits, stocks or bonds and mutual funds, to the State 
Treasurer's Office annually by March 31.  
 

The 52-page manual has been mailed to approximately 4,000 businesses that reported 
abandoned property to the state in 1999.  Business owners can request a copy of the manual, 
which includes all necessary reporting forms and detailed instructions, by calling the Unclaimed 

Property Division of the Treasurer's Office at (860) 702-3261. The manual 
is also available online and can be downloaded from the State Treasury 
website at www.state.ct.us/ott.  Forms can be downloaded separately. 
 

Treasurer Nappier encourages business owners to comply with state 
unclaimed property laws, and said that businesses with questions regarding 
the law should contact the Unclaimed Property Division for assistance. 
Nappier said that in fiscal year 2000, businesses remitted more than $37 
million in abandoned property to the state, more than in any previous year. 
By reporting and remitting unclaimed property, Nappier said business 

owners contributed to the record return of more than $9 million in unclaimed property to thousands 
of citizens across the state last year.  

 
Nappier said that businesses are essential partners with the Treasurer's Office in fulfilling 

one of its core goals — to reunite Connecticut citizens with their unclaimed financial assets – and 
commended businesses that complied with the law in a timely manner. Connecticut is not alone 
among states administering unclaimed property. All fifty states as well as Puerto Rico have 
unclaimed property laws that require compliance in reporting abandoned property.  
 

In fact, according to the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators 
(NAUPA), the leading national unclaimed property trade association, unclaimed property claims 
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are increasing across the nation. NAUPA estimates that there are 36 million claimants nationwide, 
and an estimated $10 billion in unclaimed property held by businesses in the United States.  
 

Despite those professional estimates, some business owners are unaware of what items 
constitute unclaimed property or whether or not they are holders of unclaimed property.  

 
Madelyn Colón, assistant treasurer of Connecticut’s Unclaimed Property Division, said, 

“We recognize that educating holders is essential to increasing their compliance with unclaimed 
property laws and regulations.” Colón said it is unusual for any organization not to have 
unclaimed property because unclaimed property results from normal business operations. In 
addition to insurance benefits and securities, general areas where unclaimed property is found 
include savings or checking accounts, utility, cable, and telephone service deposits, and safe 
deposit box contents.  
 

Colón said the State Treasurer's Office plans to expand its outreach efforts this year, 
through publications, presentations and other marketing strategies, in order to increase awareness 
of unclaimed property reporting requirements among Connecticut business owners.  

 
The Division also periodically conducts examinations of businesses based on previous 

reporting activity. Colón said, “all of our activities support the principal mission of unclaimed 
property as a consumer protection service that safeguards the ownership interests of Connecticut 
citizens.” 
 
________________________ 
 

To request a Holder Reporting Manual or to get more information about reporting unclaimed 
property, businesses may call the Unclaimed Property Division at (860) 702-3261 or go to 
www.state.ct.us/ott on the web. 
 


