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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE        
Monday, December 8, 2003 
 

ANOTHER REASON TO SHOP IN CONNECTICUT THIS HOLIDAY SEASON: 
GIFT CARDS WITHOUT UNEXPECTED FEES, EXPIRATION DATES 

 
The value of a gift card purchased in Connecticut is now protected from inactivity fees  
 
(HARTFORD, CT) - With gift card sales more popular than ever this year, a new law initiated by 
State Treasurer Denise L. Nappier now protects shoppers who purchase gift cards in Connecticut from 
the expiration dates and inactivity fees that some retailers impose.  
 
“Our message is that gift cards now offer not only a convenience for consumers, but if they are 
purchased in Connecticut, they provide consumers with greater protection – the knowledge that 
the value of the gift card won’t be eroded over time.  With the new law, anyone shopping in 
Connecticut has an even greater incentive to put gift cards on their shopping list,” Nappier said.  
 
Nappier noted that the holiday shopping season is a great time to inform Connecticut consumers 
of the advantages of the state’s new gift card law, which applies to gift cards and certificates 
sold in Connecticut on or after August16, 2003 (the date it was passed by the Connecticut 
General Assembly). Among our bordering states, only Connecticut’s law prohibits both 
expiration dates and the deduction of monthly fees for non-use of a gift card. 
 
“For Connecticut residents thinking about purchasing gift cards at locations just beyond our 
borders, they should know that their gift card purchases will be better protected if they buy the 
cards here in Connecticut,” Nappier said.  
 
Before the new law took effect, many Connecticut stores, restaurants and other businesses, 
particularly national chains -- like their counterparts across the country -- imposed inactivity fees 
and expirations dates that depleted over time the value of gifts cards and gift certificates.  Laws 
in most states continue to permit fees or expiration dates or both, and the laws vary from state to 
state. 
 
For example, one leading retailer doing business in Connecticut had imposed a $2.00 inactivity fee 
—retroactively — if its gift card remained inactive for 24 consecutive months. That means an unused 
$50 gift card would have been automatically reduced by $48 after 24 consecutive months of non-
use. Other retailers charged inactivity fees ranging from $1.50 to $5.00 per month.  
 
“It was an outrageous practice that retailers were allowed to subtract value from consumer gift 
cards.  Now, we have a law that fully protects consumers and their money,” Nappier said, adding 
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that “I’m just as concerned for consumers that still have cards purchased on or before August 15, 
which are not affected by the new law, and I urge consumers to use them now, while they still 
can.” 
 
GIFT CARD SALES INCREASE DRAMATICALLY 
 
Gift cards are one of the most rapidly growing segments of the retail industry.  More than $36 
billion worth of gift cards were sold nationwide last year and sales are expected to top $45 
billion this year. According to a recent survey by the National Retail Federation (NRF), 69.9 
percent of consumers plan to buy gift cards this holiday season, spending an average of $34.24 
per card. And when asked, nearly half of consumers (48.4 percent) said they would like to 
receive gift cards this year, up from 41.3 percent in 2002, according to an earlier survey.   
 
Another industry survey this year (conducted by The Marketing Workshop, Inc. of Norcross, GA) 
found that 65 percent of gift card purchases are planned, rather than impulse buys, reflecting the 
tremendous impact of new technology on the public’s gift-buying habits. 
 
To ensure that Connecticut retailers are familiar with the new law, 
Nappier’s Office provided direct notification to businesses across the 
state after learning that retail associations had opted not to provide 
information about the law to their members and customers.  
 
NO MATTER WHAT THE FINE PRINT SAYS 
 
Nappier said the challenge facing her office is to ensure that the public understands its rights 
under the new law. That effort is made more difficult by the continued use by some retailers of 
language on the back of gift cards that refers to expiration dates and inactivity fees that are 
permitted in many other states, but not Connecticut.                    
 
“In addition, there are those who oppose the new law and believe that retailers own these gift 
cards and should be allowed to keep any unused value, even though they never provided the 
goods or services.  As a result, the assumption being made by some is that without a massive 
education campaign for both consumers and retailers, the state will not be able to enforce the 
new law and ensure compliance.”   
 
Nappier’s Office has heard reports of some retailers that have recently informed consumers that 
their gift cards were subject to activity fees and/or expiration dates, notwithstanding the new 
law, which essentially bans such charges. 
 
On the contrary, said Nappier, “There are other retailers who see this new law as a wonderful 
opportunity to promote their business.”  As an example, Nappier pointed to retail advertisements 
already appearing that promote a ‘no fees – no expiration date’ policy to help attract customers.  
 
Additional information about Connecticut’s gift card law is at www.giftcardlaw.com  
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